PDA

View Full Version : Digital newby - advice needed.

bullyluvver
03-17-2006, 04:45 AM
Hi all,

Apologies for asking what you must've been asked a thousand times already, but I'm new to digital art and would like to know how to get started ie: which programme's are suitable for a beginner etc? I draw and paint in different styles on canvas, paper etc, and would really like to learn digital art too. I know some can use the mouse to draw but I find it awkward so would need something more pencil like. I've heard of Wacom but that's about it, I don't know anything else about it and I've never seen one. I've also heard that a mac is better for these programmes but I don't have one of those! Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Gail

fugitive
03-17-2006, 05:35 AM
A mac was better, yrs ago, now................
Psp is a good starter and senior one too, god knows I'm senior. For pads a wacom Graphire III is good, but at $80 a bit. There are cheaper ways to go, just search Google. Also ebay, as I got a Wacom Artz cheap and it's also good for any programs you want. I but everything on ebay, my digi cam and camera, my monitor, two Wacoms...........................

Yako
03-17-2006, 07:43 AM
Here's a link you would like to see. It ha squestionnaire which will help you choose which tablet best suits your needs: www.wacom.com.Good luck!

Skinny
03-17-2006, 08:06 AM
Welcome!

PSP, Painter and Photoshop are all great programs...any one of them will give you the tools to paint digitally.

I couldn't function without a graphics tablet! If price is an object, so with a less expensive wacom.

SabZero
03-17-2006, 11:36 AM
Note that a Wacom tablet comes with a version of Painter - sometimes you can even get a good deal on a bundle (tablet + full version of Painter).

If you want something like Photoshop, but don't want to spend money, try out The Gimp (http://www.gimp.org) - it's free (the interface is a bit different, but the functionality is close)!