PDA

View Full Version : anxiety and layers

jimbob
02-18-2002, 02:32 AM
:cat: :confused:
hi I am new to Wet Canvas and I am very new to oil painting. I've had some success with painting but I find myself getting overwhelmed when I am achieving my goal with my current project. - "I guess I have issues with finishing a painting"
while I build the paint from layer to layer anxiety builds and towards the end of my work I stopped painting because I'm afraid of ruining the work I've done..
I would appreciate any advise
thanks Jim:)

Luis Guerreiro
02-18-2002, 06:09 AM
I suppose we all went through that sort of feeling at some point in time. Don't worry too much. Trial and error is a constant feature of an artists life. I have sent straight to the bin dozens of "not good enough" work, but that's how things get better. Like in cycling, a few falls are the way to get to cycle perfectly well.
:D

Wayne Gaudon
02-18-2002, 08:26 AM
Lack of confidence = fear of failure = minimal adventure in effort.

there is only one way around this .. ruin some .. save some .. when you become confident that you can save the piece no matter what you do to it (and you will) you will lose the fear

.. of course, you will still ruin the occassional canvas .. that's all part of painting .

Keep going, don't let fear stop your progress. You can always make another painting.

sarkana
02-18-2002, 10:40 AM
i find there are always a bunch of bad or unsuccessful paintings that lead to the ones i am proud of. i try to get the bad ones out of the way. this can even be a fun project: today i will only make bad paintings!

nam26b
02-18-2002, 10:43 AM
Here's a thread that I can completely identify with. I've been painting for only a couple of months, and have experienced the same feeling when I get something good.

I do have some advice, though........just calm down.