PDA

View Full Version : Using Tubes- Still painting or cheating?

gigih
03-06-2006, 11:59 AM
I'm pretty new to digital art. I was having a discussion with someone about using tubes, they said it was cheating, like cutting out pictures and using them. I said many collage artists use pictures and the tubes are simply a shortcut. Any thoughts out there. I would never dream of replacing all original work with tubes, but a blend of both seems ok to me. here are a couple of examples using painting techniques and tubes together. What do you think?
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/06-Mar-2006/71803-gorilla.jpg Gorilla (only tube used was the actual gorilla itself),
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/06-Mar-2006/71803-sleepyswamp.jpg Sleepy Swamp (tubes used for butterflies)

Skinny
03-06-2006, 01:42 PM
Works for me! I don't really care how an artist gets to their end result...I just want to enjoy that work. Tubes are only a problem -- to me -- whenthey scream "stamped".

Chiers
03-06-2006, 02:25 PM
It isn't a matter of "cheating". But it isn't "Painting"! There is nothing wrong with using tubes, filters, effects, etc, but when you are using them you are not painting. The only time using such methods might be considered "cheating" is if you use them, then claim to have painted whatever the product you got from them. And then the proper term still wouldn't really be cheating, it would be dishonest.

Kristen, as a learning artist do you really not want to know how other artists achieved the final product? Especially if you really like it and want to learn how to do the same yourself. When I see artwork I really admire, I would love to know every single step and even more love to see with my own eyes exactly how it came about. Thats how I learn, along with practicing myself of course.