PDA

View Full Version : oil over acrylics

rjmjr
02-15-2002, 01:23 PM
Hi,

I’m new to WC and oil painting and I hope you’ll patronize one of my silly questions.

Anyway, I was reading a book that suggested using acrylics for the underpainting of an oil. This intrigues me because of the rapid drying time of acrylics and I have some familiarity with them. But as a surface for glazing? Hmm …

If anyone has experience using this particular technique I would really appreciate advise, tips, and various words of wisdom.

Thanks!

Rob

vallarta
02-15-2002, 01:45 PM
Oils over acrylics are fine. It is the method of painting I prefer above all else.

When doing work in this manner you have the following choices.

1. Use one color and then prepare at least 5 and better 8 shades of the color and paint an underpainting with it....the object here is to make a value painting.....

2. Draw a value painting in charcoal or other and then spray it with acrylic spray/or medium and then paint over it with acrylic colors. You can paint over the one color underpainting this way as well...(method 1).

3. Let the acrylic dry for a day or two. I know it should be dry in minutes but if you have laid over the second color...and/or corrected errors by painting an area out and repainting with gesso or white paint....etc then you should let the area have a good dry before beginning oils so that there is no water bloom in the final rendering.

4. Paint over the acrylic with OIL GLAZES AND SCUMBLES. These are thin mixtures of paint and medium. I suggest using Liquin for the medium since it drys fast....(meaning overnite in many cases).

You continue to paint glaze over glaze (and or scumble which means you used white or opaque paint in the mix) ...waiting for the paint to dry. If you scumble....then wait about 5-10 days before you paint over that area again.