PDA

View Full Version : Intro & Q: Alcohol as fixative ?

wabbitt
02-13-2006, 05:33 PM
Hi all. I'm new to Wetcanvas! and new to art in general, so I'm trying it all. When I started getting more serious about art over a year ago, Mom started cleaning out her closets and passing on a bunch of 35+ year old art supplies, including a beautiful box of 48 pastels, her old oil paints and canvases, masonite, and drawing & watercolor paper. I couldn't believe the goldmine she had in her closets and the prices she paid for them. Can you believe 90 cents for a 4 oz. tube of Grambacher oil paints? 29 cents for canvas board?

Since I started playing with the soft pastels, I've always had a point of frustration with the art fixative darkening my colors and not really "fixing." I saw in my brief WC! search that I'm not the only one who went to acrylics because of this. But like I said, I'm trying it all. I was pushed to the edge before Christmas when my "fixed" pastel poinsettias fell on me when I was moving the easel and covered me in red and green dust. After reading all the other posts, I will go back to pastels and try again because I really do love working with the medium, even if I end up just taking a picture and throwing the original in a pizza box under the bed without fixative.

To my question: I read somewhere that one of the masters...don't remember the name...used to mix his pastel work with alcohol. Brushed or sprayed, I think both. So I tried a fine mist of rubbing alcohol on a test in my sketchbook. It brightened the colors alot and it was permanent. Cool. I tried it on a painting I did on straight masonite, no gesso, smooth side. Fixative was totally wiping out my work, even after the masonite dried and returned to its original color. With alcohol, everything turned dark, but came back to a certain point when it had dried off. I still had to leave the top layer unfixed.