PDA

View Full Version : practicing,learning, hit and miss!

bjcpaints
02-02-2006, 11:27 AM
Hi! I have been using pastels for about 2 months now. Got a good easel with my Christmas gift certificates! I really love it and its great not to be balancing a board on my lap trying to paint! I still have not done 1 painting that I am really proud of. Acrylics are a quicker learning curve maybe? LOL Anyway, My big question from last nights session: Is it normal to have quite a bit of pastel falling to the tray that my board sits in on the easel? I had covered it with foil as I read somewhere, so that I can pulll it off and pour the pastel droppings into a jar. I know (NOW) that I should have taped my work up higher on the board because the bottom of my painting is sitting in a buildup of pastel dust. How often should you have to dump it out? I painted for an hour and dumped it twice. Any tips? I seem to put pastel on, take a lot off by blending, then start again with another layer - same thing. Appreciate your feedback!
Barbara

dlake
02-02-2006, 11:44 AM
How much is alot?? I get run off on the board. makes a pretty pile of dust. lol. So, Barbara, what kind of easel did you get and do you like it.
As for learning curve, I've been doing patels for a year and my art looks like an 8 year old did it. And I gave up acryllics for this addiction????
I'll let the pros give you tips. ha. I'm still soaking the tips up.
diane

exoticacanvas
02-02-2006, 12:36 PM
I am of the same mind, dlake, I am too new to post, and, yes, I feel like an eight year old did it. I have not had the courage to post any of it as yet. Mostly what I do is read and study and practice and get tips galore. I am still so new at this that I am still painting on a board on my lap. I am planning to move to better quarters so that will help. I have no room for a table and chair, much less an easel but that is definitely in my future as this apartment was only meant to be a transitional place.