PDA

View Full Version : still life - unknown style

billo
02-01-2006, 05:37 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/02-01-2006/75223_stilljan06_005c.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: still life - unknown style
Year Created: 2006
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 40cmx80cm
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hi everybody! I am new to WC, a fantastic community. In the last few days, I have learnt a lot by simply reading the threads and reading the comments of the very talented and helpful people around here. So I thought I could have some specific input on my latest work. I mainly paint over weekends, as I do not have a studio and have to do it in the dining room. This means that, by dinner time, everything has to be 'as usual', and I spend more time putting my paint, easel and brushes away than painting. This explains my productivity (1 painting every 6 years, on average, in the past 20 years). And it shows!! In any case, any input would be more than welcome. Thanks for what you are teaching me!!

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
In particular, what style is this? Abstract? Something else? Usually, I am in the figurative stuff. This time, I tried something different. Evidently, the older I get, the bolder I become!

donn_granros
02-01-2006, 05:41 PM
Somewhat cubist I would say

Zap
02-01-2006, 06:09 PM
I would agree that it is cubist in style.....and I quite like it. Even though we paint abstract images or cubist images, it is important to pay attention to light and shadow. I feel that is the one weakness in this painting. BUt I really like the composition.

billo
02-01-2006, 06:26 PM
Cubist (sort of)! Thanks, Donn!

Zap: light! I fully agree with you. Where does it come from? Not clear ... I guess I got confused by all the different sections in the painting. Anyway, I have six years to fix it!!

Constellation
02-01-2006, 07:45 PM