PDA

View Full Version : My painting didn't make it

Bringer
01-31-2006, 09:40 AM
Hi,

The painting I sent to the Pastel 100 contest didn't make to the first 100.
I hope next year I may do it, one never knows....
I was told that there were over 4000 entries.
Now I'm looking forward to see the works that won. I bet there will be lots of great paintings for inspiration.

Kindest regards,

José

Bill Foehringer
01-31-2006, 09:54 AM
Jose', maybe you were 101!!!! Keep working as hard as you can, you have the eye...in the meantime painting itself is the reward. BillF

angel_I
01-31-2006, 10:06 AM
José,
This is true, you were in the running. That is way ahead of what I can do. Can we possibly see the work you submitted? I will bet we will make it a winner here. I am a beginner myself and have not had the courage to post as yet. There are so many great artists here.

"The artist, painter, poet, or musician, by his decoration, sublime or beautiful, satisfies the aesthetic sense; but that is akin to the sexual instinct, and shares its barbarity: he lays before you also the greater gift of himself." Somerset Maugham on writing about Paul Gauguin

jmp
01-31-2006, 10:07 AM
hey, don't feel bad, for years I've been watching Dino Paravono (sp?) take well below first place, and I think he is the best! you've probably seen him there, mostly paints wildlife- you should see what he does on plain old canson paper!
It's a tough competition- and alot of the winners say it's their umpteenth time entering before they win!

angecald
01-31-2006, 10:20 AM
Jose, you did well to even send something to the contest. That takes energy and organization, not to mention courage. 4000 entries, yikes! Try putting yourself in the judges' place, only allowed to choose 100, no matter how many others they like.