PDA

View Full Version : new to printmaking...

davinci
02-09-2002, 02:46 PM
I am currently an illustrator that does most of my work in scratchboard and watercolour. I am trying to reinvent myself, and thought printmaking would be a logical step from scratchboard. I bought some linolium on a wood block, speed ball ink, roller and burnisher, and speedball cutting tools, but I am having two problems. The first is the lack of control I am getting when cutting into the lino. I get alot of resistance and therefore I cant do small precise cuts, and my cuts are clumsy. Someone told me to heat the tools over a flame as I do it, but this doesnt seem to help much. The second problem is that when I roll the ink over the finished piece and burnish it, I lose a lot of the nuances and it comes out a globbed mess. I am printing on bristol board. Also my final issue is that you can only put one color ink on the cut and so the print is just one color. As an illustrator for books and magazines, this is not acceptable. I need to be able to create more than one color and create shadows ect... I am not sure if this is even possible in printmaking. I was thinking maybe i could go back into it with watercolour but I don't know. Than I thought maybe etching would be more what I need to create detail and actual illustrations suitable for print, but I have no accsess to a press of printing acid. Any help on this big mess?

Gisela
02-09-2002, 06:09 PM
Hi davinci!
First of all welcome to the printmaking forum!!

Lino-cut is a good place to start. There are a lot of newer products that are softer, like 'Easy-cut". You might want to try those out until you get a feel for the tools. It's kind of a rubber material -- very easy to cut and keep control.
Sassy metioned that she uses the unmounted lino and warms it on a heat vent. I've let mine sit on the back of a warm stove. I think that softening the lino might be work better than heating the tools.