PDA

View Full Version : Watercolour with Pastel ...suggestions?

gallerygerl
01-11-2006, 01:06 PM
Hi. I'm new to this so forgive any protocol errors. I'm a professional artist working in wc and pastel and recently started combining them. I've been working on Wallis, but the wc really dries too dull for my taste. I don't like the effect of pastel on wc paper either (140lb cold press, Arches). Any suggestions?

eutherpendragon
01-11-2006, 01:45 PM
Gallerygerl,

You might want to check out Albert Handell's book, "Painting the Landscape in Pastel" (I think that's the title, but not sure of the exact words). He does a great many pieces as mixed media, specifically watercolor and pastel. I know that he does use Wallis paper for his work - and I believe it's the Wallis Museum paper. I know you mentioned that you don't care for the watercolor on Wallis or on watercolor paper...I'm not sure of another paper to try, but that may just be because I don't have much experience with watercolor. At any rate, you might want to check out Handell's book because he does a lot of successful pieces with the wc and pastel.

- Ann

fio44
01-11-2006, 01:46 PM
Hi Gallerygerl,

Albert Handell does watercolor with pastel. I don't know him personally and thus I don't know how amiable he is, but his web site is: http://www.alberthandell.com/mainpage.htm

It has a contact page on there, so why not drop him a line. It's worth a shot.

I've toned Wallis paper with gouache, which as you know is more opaque than watercolor and may be a better choice if you are finding that your watercolor is, pardon the pun, too washed out for your liking.

jmp
01-11-2006, 01:55 PM
the watercolor is really supposed to be the underpainting, to help achieve darks & add more life to the pastel colors you place on TOP of the watercolor..

MarshaSavage
01-11-2006, 01:58 PM