Title: Eiffel Tower For Emily
Year Created: 2006
Medium: Pastel
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 11 X 14
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hi Everyone:

This was a Christmas present for my daughter. It is both my first attempt at a picture of solely inanimate objects, (I have exclusively drawn wildlife previous to this) and my first use of black paper. I used a Rembrandt stick white soft pastel and a white pastel pencil (can't remember the brand, and all my art supplies are in another location right now.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I guess I want an honest opinion of the work from people who work in the medium. Laypersons have offered some wonderful compliments, but I am a perfectionist, and I am not quite happy with the fountain sprays. Any advice or techniques to make the spray more ethereal would be greatly appreciated.

I am completely self-taught, and anything I got right was through trial and error. All the things I got wrong were probably due to trying to reinvent the wheel. But I hope I have found a source in WC.

Thanks for the input. And be brutal if necessary. I want to get better, not get stroked. :>

Grunge
01-07-2006, 12:10 PM
It would be very difficult for me to be highly critical of this work as I find it to be quite good. Your proportions seem to be spot on. The fountain sprays don't bother me at all. You've chosen a difficult subject and I really think you've done some work that you can be proud of.

I think I would have to examine fountain sprays in action to be able to tell if you've made any mistakes. you must account for wind when discussing the direction the water is going. I think what you've done looks perfectly natural. Perhaps you want the sprays to be more translucent? You can see the background through them....no problem in that area. maybe you want them to be more solid? but water isn't really solid.