PDA

View Full Version : Scratchboard?

RachelK
01-05-2006, 09:11 PM
Hi
I'm interested in trying scratchboard for the first time. Does anyone have any advice on how to get started, materials, how you add color?

thanks,
Rachel

Mary Woodul
01-05-2006, 09:31 PM
Hi Rachel,welcome to Mixed Media. I wish I could answer your question but I have never done scratchboard before but we do have several members that post there work here in the forum and hopefully they will help you.:)

idylbrush
01-05-2006, 09:33 PM
There are several artists on this board that do wonderful scratchboard. I am sure they will have plenty of advice.

You can also put scratchboard technique in the google search engine and there comes more information that an armload. Have fun. I haven't done scratchboard in maybe 40 years but have fond memories of it.

No, I will not start a new technique at this time, bad artist.

myorca
01-06-2006, 08:46 AM
Hi Rachel,

I do scratchboard and only scratchboard work. I found that Ampersand's claybord black is a great surface to work on. I use a straightpin with the head cut off placed in an exacto knife holder. They make tools for scratchboard, but I find the pin works great. Others here use exacto knife blades to scratch with.
Dick Blick has everything you need to get started, or you can go to hobby lobby or michaels and get boards there as well.

As far as color is concerned, I have colored one piece, but will be doing alot of color work in the future. I will be using ampersands claybord inks with an airbrush to start.

When you do start scratching, scratch very lightly. You can always go back and rescratch areas to lighten them up. If you start with to heavy a hand the scratching will look washed out by the time you are finished.

Hope it helps.

Bob

TrickyV
01-06-2006, 03:04 PM
Rachel....Stick with Bob (myorca) and you can't go wrong. Good luck.
Victor :wave:

Trilby
01-06-2006, 11:19 PM