PDA

View Full Version : Achieving "near black"

boarsrock
01-05-2006, 08:28 PM
I've spent the last 4 - 5 years with watercolor and now finding great joy in pastel. However, as a newbie I need help and direction with achieving the darkest tones.

With watercolors I could mix several blues, reds, violets and greens and get a very dark result without using "black". Black seems to look unatural as most shadows tend to be deep tonalities.

Any tips on how to get the result I'm looking for without black? Maybe it's just the order I'm laying the color down in?

Seems like 've seen some posts where charcoal was used. I'm using a variety of pastels (soft and medium hard) Nupastel, Gallery and Mun Gyo.

Thanks for any feedback!

dlake
01-05-2006, 08:31 PM
Some pastel companies make really good dark greys. I use a very dark purple, brown or grey depending on what I'm doing. I haven't tried them but, if you go on dick blick you can buy individual diane townsends and she has several colors called black something. Like black green, blackred, ect. Looks really good.

khourianya
01-05-2006, 08:35 PM
There are a few really good threads on shadows in the pastel Library..if you do a forum search for pastel shadows, they are sure to come up :)

PeggyB
01-05-2006, 09:07 PM
My favorite near blacks because they are a bit "harder" so make a good first layer are the Art Spectrum Flinders Blue Violet, Deep or Flinders Red Violet, Deep. They are so dark one has to sometimes look twice to realize they have either a cool or warm temperature to them which using charcoal or premixed grays don't have. Terry Ludwig has an extremely dark green that is very nice, but I don't know what name/color it might be because none of my Ludwig's have labels on them - an older set when he didn't label anything.

Peggy

Khadres
01-05-2006, 09:59 PM