PDA

View Full Version : Belgian Shepherd Dogs Woodburnings

Crias
02-02-2002, 08:43 PM
This is my first time posting in this forum...actually I guess I never noticed there was an alternative medium forum! My most common medium is pencil, however I also love scratchboard and just started woodburning (pyrographics)! Here are my third, fourth and fifth woodburnings ever. All will be turned into coat/leash racks. They are burned in pine (reportedly one of the most difficult woods to burn, due to the grain). Some do not have the pegs yet, and the bottom one has not been stained yet either.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Feb-2002/tervburning.jpg
Belgian Tervuren Pyrograph on pine- 16"x7"

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Feb-2002/herdburning.jpg
Belgian Groenendael herding Pyrograph on pine- 18"x7.5"

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Feb-2002/bsdburning.jpg
Belgian Groenendael Pyrograph on pine- 17.5"x7.5"

All coments welcome and appreciated!

joemajury
02-03-2002, 06:28 AM
I think these are great, and Im sure they will be a best seller for you.
I would REALLY be interested to know more about the process, what do you use for the burning, the only thing to come into my mind would be a soldering iron, am I correct?
I would love to see a step by step, on one of your pieces

Joe
;) ;)

cagathoc
02-03-2002, 08:31 AM
This is lovely work! I like the herding one. :)

sassybird
02-03-2002, 02:16 PM
I have always been fascinated by burning also. These are all wonderful pieces. I know they will go over big where you decide to show them. Pine is hard to work with in woodcuts because of the grain, but I never considered that burning would also pose a problem. Makes sense though. If and when you try other woods let us know how they work up in the burning. Also please tell us what kind of tool you use for the burning.