PDA

View Full Version : Serendipity

barryt
12-27-2005, 08:07 AM
I think that's what this is?!
I took a book out of the library to read over Christmas. (Can't be on WC ALL the time) It was called 'The Apothecary's House' and since I'm a pharmacist the title had some attraction.
The story was set in Amsterdam (That's in Holland for you US of A people).

It told the story of a pharmacist in 1760 who painted in his spare time. Noticing that silver salts went dark on exposure to light, he set up a Vermeer type dark room with a lens in the wall looking out on to another room.
He set up a scene in that room and gave it a 40 min exposure and found that he had a negative of the image on his silvered copper plate.
But guess what?
He painted a positive over the negative scene, in oils.
Now. What I want to know is: was this the first photo manip. :)

LadyAlba
12-27-2005, 08:20 AM
ROFL Sounds like it to me, Barry! http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Dec-2005/29951-jump.gif

Bytemebabs
12-30-2005, 03:55 PM
Geesh! I honestly don't @#$!# know! But thank you for the education and the "desire" to find out!

You always make me smile :D

leofaerie17
12-30-2005, 06:08 PM
:wave: :wave: :wave:

Barry HI what would we have done without all of these old pioneers,interesting story :clap:

barryt
12-31-2005, 05:41 AM
Thanks for reading, Marge Babs and Bev.
I didn't mean to end with that punch line when I started, since it's a novel, and i'm doubtful it's based on real fact. It just made me smile reading it at just the time we were having a big discussion her about photo manips.

I just thought about serendipity.
It might be true of course.

Jin
12-31-2005, 06:50 AM
Barry!

Here it is, 2:21 in the morning and you've got me so excited about the history of photography, that I'll be up all night! (NOT!)