PDA

View Full Version : A W A K E

primitivehuman
12-24-2005, 01:33 PM
This is my first time posting here. :)

I create all of my art digitally before painting it. It cuts down on the amount of paper consumed for sketches. This is an idea I'm probably going to paint on a 12"x12" canvas for an OVAC fundraiser next year. I was hoping someone could give me a little feedback. It is hard to be objective of your own work. ;)

http://www.primitivehuman.com/wip/awake05.jpg

waheednasir
12-24-2005, 02:00 PM
hi there..welcome to the forum primitivehuman...interesting work. i like it...:). i think u have played with the light in a realistic manner, as i see its effect on the skull's outer edge and the water/waves its nicely done. if thats rite, then get rid of the that light effect on the ear. the ear wont get that much light as its not facing it. but im not sure about your approach. so that might be ok according to your idea...:). other than that, its an interesting piece and well handled.

all the best with your canvas painting...:wave:.

Sheldon
12-24-2005, 03:20 PM
Interesting. Don't know what OVAC is so can't comment on context. I would suggest that you paint it larger that 12" x 12," I'd make the head about life size, whatever that works out to be, but no larger than life size.

To me it looks vary deliberate, like you know what you want to express. Composition, color, everything look to support your expression, whatever it may be, I can only guess. The interplay between the head, dragonfly and moon is interesting. The placement and size of the moon has a subtile but significant effect on the interaction and attention placed on the head and dragonfly, I think, so you could possibly play around with that.

It's great!

barryt
12-24-2005, 03:26 PM
A great style, well composed. It deserves more than 12 x 12

primitivehuman
12-24-2005, 09:18 PM