PDA

View Full Version : I just have a question about velour

Lorrainejoy
12-22-2005, 09:12 PM
I tried to use velour for portraits in pastels as well as landscapes but when I sprayed them with fixative the pastel powder went deep into the velour, leaving patchy marks where the velour showed through. Can anyone tell me what I did wrong? Are you not sopposed to use the fixative with soft pastels? Or does the pastel powder eventually go deep into the velour? I don't like the patchy look that happens a day later. Help! I would appreciate any information about this as velour seems so nice to draw on with pastels. Thanks. :confused:

Piper Ballou
12-22-2005, 09:35 PM
Lorraine, I am just beginning to work on velour, so please take any advice I give you lightly, but I would not spray fixative on velour ever...it holds lots of layers so it is not needed.
Just be careful with using velour, now I am speaking from experience...cannot erase and do not thump the back to get rid of any dust because the pastel will fall off.
I am liking working on velour and I hope you will get some really good tips from others
piper

khourianya
12-22-2005, 10:12 PM
I echo everything Piper said. I would never ever use fixative with Velour and only ever in emergencies with other papers.

NancyPH
12-23-2005, 12:39 AM
I have used velour only once. I mostly work on suede board, but they are extremely similar. I never use fixative on any of my pastels. The velour and suede are deep enough to hold onto the pastels pretty well, and I have heard from others that the fixative does change the picture quite a bit, and not for the better.

If you get concerned about the pastels flaking off once you mat it, have a spacer put on it.

Best wishes with your velour.

Lorrainejoy
12-23-2005, 03:33 PM