PDA

View Full Version : eBay - Self representing artists category - your views please

Maggie J
01-30-2002, 02:02 PM
I'm quite new to eBay and so far have only listed in one category:
art; paintings: general.

We're supposed to be getting the self representing artists category on the UK site in Feb - for those of you who already use it - what are your views? do you think it's improved your sales?

I've wondered about listing in more than one category - so far I've had success in the one I've used. I don't know if my stuff's suited to Self Rep Artists as It's quite 'classic' - any ideas/views appreciated!
:confused:

sketchdude
01-30-2002, 06:13 PM
Hi Maggie,
I don't think the Self Rep category has anything to do with style, it just means that the artwork is available for sale directly from the artist. The style could be classical, contemporary or anything in between.
Someone in the UK mentioned to me that they were adding this category -I was surprized that it didn't already exist. I usually get 1/3 to 1/2 more page views when I use it along with the general painting or drawing category, so it's been worth the double listing fees to use both.

Sumafra
01-31-2002, 01:38 AM
Maggie, I've used the self representing category but I don't really know if it works better then others. I just don't like the idea of listing in 2 categories and paying double fees. But I'm also interesting in learning what others think about this.

Maggie J
02-01-2002, 03:39 AM
Thanks for your comments Sketchdude and Sumafra - I may give it a try when it starts in UK and just see what happens! I don't like the idea of double feels either though.

1/3 to 1/2 more page view would make it worth a try.
Maggie J

CarlyHardy
02-01-2002, 02:35 PM
Since I list more than one painting at a time, I use either category but not both on my listings. I don't like paying double fees when I don't feel it's been worth it in the past.