PDA

View Full Version : Pastel paper questions

khemosabi2
12-08-2005, 05:46 PM
I am new to pastels but would like to start working in color. Everything I do is in Charcoal at the moment and years ago, I worked in CP. SO, I have a few questions for the more experienced (if you don't mind).

I bought Colorfix paper and Velour paper the other day. I'm not interested in working on Wallis just yet. Are the two papers I bought acceptable? I also have Mi-Tienes but I've seen the reactions to it so I'm not sure I even want to try it. Everyone seems to hate it for pastels. Is there a paper similiar to Mi-Tienes that works?

The colorfix is 19 x 25 with a white border....is it possible to cut it down? Or should I leave it the size it comes in? I rarely work that large and the 9" x 12" size is just too small!

Ok, I think that's all of the paper questions! :)

~Jessa

eutherpendragon
12-08-2005, 06:06 PM
Jessa,

I've worked with both Wallis and with the Canson paper that you mentioned. I've not tried the Colorfix nor the velour paper, although I understand that both are good options. I can only comment on the ones I have tried, so here is my experience...the Wallis is excellent paper to work on, primarily because it can hold so many layers of pastel and because one can get a nice build-up of pastel, not unlike the quality of oil paint. However, the Wallis paper can be a little tricky to work on...at least, it took some getting used to for me.

As for the Canson Mi-Tientes paper...I find it to be a good, economical paper. I know a lot of folks in this forum do not care for it, but I've used it extensively and am aware of its potential. One has to keep in mind when using this paper that you have to maintain a VERY LIGHT TOUCH, so as not to fill up the tooth prematurely. Otherwise, you can get nice, soft edges and effects with it. I figure if the paper is good enough for Harley Brown and for Daniel Greene, it can't be all bad. :D

I hope this helps.

- Ann

Bringer