PDA

View Full Version : Mosaic Crane

AriadneArts
01-23-2002, 06:09 PM
Hello All,

I'm new to WC and posted this a few days ago in the Wildlife Forum before I knew about this forum.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Jan-2002/CraneMosaic4.JPG

Did this last year with Italian vitrious glass on a 9" diameter round of plywood. I am self taught and have only had the (always but perhaps biased) appreciative comments of my family. Any comments will be welcomed.

Thanks

sassybird
01-23-2002, 09:58 PM
Welcome to WC Ariadne:)

I have always enjoyed mosaic work, and this one is beautiful. The composition is good, and the color choice is excellent. I see so many mosaics done in really bright basic colors that seeing ones in the pastels is always a treat. I like the way you worked your border colors and the ones along the inner wing. It pulls it all together quite well.

We have another member that does a lot of mosaic work, JoeMajury, and I am sure he is going to like this one a lot:D

Do you have this piece on a wall, or implanted into a walkway somewhere? Seems it would look very good at a pool or in an atrium.

joemajury
01-24-2002, 05:44 PM
You are right, I really like this, the colours and design go well together.
Very nice piece - have you more?

Joe
( I like the tinyhead as well - one of mine )

AriadneArts
01-24-2002, 09:18 PM
Thanks so much for your positive comments. I've been living in a vacuum with my art. Need a little perspective from other artists and can't believe Wet Canvas. What a find! I feel like I'm wandering the halls of a great university, getting lost but not caring--it's a great adventure finding my way.

Sassybird, I've seen a few of your works--veeeery interesting, especially one that I believe is with seaweed? You were wrapping it in beautiful threads....

No, I don't have the crane up anywhere yet, but you are the second person to suggest it be near some water.