PDA

View Full Version : Westie fur on velour WIP

LorraineG
10-20-2005, 07:34 AM
Hi, I was going to wait until I had a better reference photo to work from. I have never done a WIP before and have thrown myself in the deep end as the reference photo isn't clear!!!. I thought I would do this one, as white westies can be tricky. It is too tempting to dive in and use only white. So far I have not used any white at all. Just cream, grey and brown and pink for the ears.

I have read in several threads questions about if you can do crisp sharp lines on velour. I have taken one of my pastels (Faber Castells) and shown the different types of lines you can make with it. I break my pastel stick to about 1 1/2" so I can use the flat side and the tip, plus the side of the tip (if that makes sense).

I have also shown how using the same pastel stick, you can achieve different shades of the colour by using different pressures. (I know some of this you probably know, but I thought I would show it for those who haven't used velour and wanted to know).

No. 1 line is made from the very point of my pastel (pastel stick shown to the left, the sharp edge on my pastel stick has been created by using the flat side of my pastel near the tip a lot).

No. 2 line was made by using the side of the tip of the pastel

no's 3, 4, 5 have been made by using the side of the tip and by using different pressures the lines are different tones.

No. 6 is where I have used the side flat edge of my pastel stick with light pressure.

No. 7 is where I have done some pastel lines using some of the above and then draged the side of the pastel lightly over them. I call this my wash of colour. It is like in water colour when you put a wash over the top and the underneath still shows through. Velour is great for this.

Here is the first stage of my WIP. I have layed down undercolours using the different techniques mentioned above. I will be building up the painting in layers. No white has been used yet.