PDA

View Full Version : Charleston shadows - untitled as of yet

tep394
10-08-2005, 08:13 PM
I've never done a true WIP before so I thought I would give it a try with the piece I just started. Hopefully, I can remember to snap progress images as I go. Sometimes I get too caught up to stop.

My reference comes from a trip my wife and I took to Charleston, SC in May. Beautiful place and a painter's paradise. Every corner has a paintable scene begging to be put on paper. I have about a hundred photos in the que from those four days alone. I chose to start with this one because of the shadows (imagine that?). I apologize for the glare on the reference photo; it's a picture of a picture. But you can at least get an idea where I am starting.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Oct-2005/44953-Charleston_reference.jpg

I usually start with a fairly detailed value sketch to work out the balance I want. I found this great heavy paper made in a small mill in Montreal. It is killer -- textured and supple, just wonderful. It takes washes well. I use indigo and white gouache for the value study. In working on the values I really enjoyed the reflections and shadows on the Venetian blinds in the window. They added a real abstraction to a realistic scene. Are they too much? Too distracting? I am also struggling with the line of the brick wall up the side. I like it one moment and then think it is distracting the next. Input welcomed and needed on that.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Oct-2005/44953-Charleston_value.jpg

After I am satisfied with the values and make adjustments if needed, I transfer the picture to the strectched paper. I've been using hot press of late and I am enjoying it. It has such a velvety texture and the darks are great once you get them on. The drawing is hard to discern but you can just make it out. Sorry for the bad pictures.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Oct-2005/44953-charleston_drawing.jpg