PDA

View Full Version : Aya Sophia

RobS
10-07-2005, 09:38 AM
Hi everybody,
I'm so inspired by this beautiful building that I had to put it on canvas (paper!). I am fairly new to watercolor but it was a lot of fun to paint and I think it turned out pretty good!
I had to scan the painting in two parts so sadly the image is not of a good quality.
c&c always welcome...
thx Rob.:wave:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Oct-2005/67988-Aya-Sophia.jpg

ale.l
10-07-2005, 09:45 AM
Hi,
Good perspective on the building and minarets. It's a good painting, isn't it.
The only nit if you allow me would be the black color of the shrubbery. I would like to see it more colorful. Perhaps it's just the scan.
What size is it and which paints did you use?

RobS
10-07-2005, 10:20 AM
Hi Ale,
thx for your comments. The painting itself is much more colorful and alive than the scan reveals. It is painted on 30 x 40 cm watercolor paper with W&N Cotman paint.
Rob

Lynn Quinn
10-07-2005, 10:42 AM
Very nice, Rob! You did better than I usually do at putting together a 2-part scan! My son showed me how to do it in Photoshop to get rid of the line, but I always have to ask him again! I really like all the colour you've got in the building.

laudesan
10-08-2005, 06:20 AM
:wave: Hi Rob.

Your are far to good an artist to be using cotman paints..:) Do yourself a favour and buy some artist grade paints..

What was the paper you used and what weight. We like to know these things, I helps visualise the painting, and also help with critique/comment..

You need a digital camera..;) I can't scan in 2 parts and stitch them together.. You did good.

This really is a lovely painting!!! I can't wait to see more!!

painterbear
10-08-2005, 07:59 AM
Hi Rob,

That building truly is inspirational in many, many ways, isn't it. Did you know it was the largest dome in the world for almost 1,000 years until the Italian Renaissance?