PDA

View Full Version : Weathered Barn

Picqwik
10-05-2005, 10:17 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Oct-2005/31000-Weathered_Barn_.jpg

My first 'Landscape' post.

An 8" x 10" oil on a prepared plywood panel. I found a great photo in the WC photo archive file (in the barns category). I pretty much copied the barn but put in the rest from my imagination.

I'm fairly new to painting and I realise that everything I do turns out looking like one of those awful Chinese factory art paintings that they sell in the malls. That's what happens when you try to teach yourself, but at least, I'm working on it!

Incidently, if you haven't made use of the photo file, check it out! It's wonderful. I've spent hours this summer, riding all over creation trying to find decent subjects to photograph when there is this huge file right under my nose.

Dave

I've decided to live forever ... so far, so good!

BTW
10-05-2005, 01:01 PM
Dave,

You are being a little hard on yourself (and the art that sells in malls). I think this is very nice. Really nice job on the barn. You should try to post a larger image so we can get a better look.

midcoast
10-06-2005, 10:05 AM
Hey Dave!

This is pretty nice :) And yes, don't be too hard on yourself since you've already said you're a beginner. The drawing is good and your use of color is good.

I think what you are seeing that's reminiscent of the "mall paintings" is the flat light (no strong shadows/values), and perhaps the composition (the centering of the barn on the canvas).

Architecture really looks best with strong shadows and/or distinctive lighting IMO (sunrise, sunset, moody days) - if you'll notice, "mall paintings" tend to have an all-over even lighting, rather than a strong directional light source that creates shadows. Shadows help to create value changes and contrast, which helps to create stronger, more interesting paintings.