PDA

View Full Version : Question About Skin Tones

cotopaxi_annie
10-03-2005, 11:18 PM
Would appreciate some suggestions about colors (Acrylic) for skin tones. I have played around with portraits in Water Soluable Oil but wanted to try some using Acrylics. Some of the colors that are available in Water Soluable Oils are not available in Acrylics and I do not know what to use instead. All suggestions appreciated for skin colors or all races.

Thanks so much for your help.

Annie

eyeinthesky
10-04-2005, 01:46 AM
Hi Annie,
I'm a newbie, but on the artists channel, Helen Van Wyck suggests red, yellow, white for caucasian skin, she didn't give specifics due to variation between brands and also from person to person. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Dave

Nitsa
10-04-2005, 04:31 AM
Hi Annie.
Here is a link to a recent portrait I did of my Niece, Jolie WIP (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=286428), I listed my palette colours within the thread somewhere.
Hope that helps!

Einion
10-04-2005, 09:56 AM
Would appreciate some suggestions about colors (Acrylic) for skin tones.Hi Annie, is this for caucasian skin?

I have played around with portraits in Water Soluable Oil but wanted to try some using Acrylics. Some of the colors that are available in Water Soluable Oils are not available in Acrylics and I do not know what to use instead. What colours have you used before?

For whites, skin is essentially a range of subdued tints of orange; the colour you'll use most of is Titanium White of course, with a yellow and red of some kind. Many people use an earth yellow with a true red (a cadmium being a popular choice) and sometimes add small amounts of a neutraliser (blue, green or black). Highlights generally would favour the red and white without any neutraliser, shadows are often achieved using additions of other colours to the midtone base but it's better to mix them from scratch in my experience.