PDA

View Full Version : Much to chew...not quite there yet! Biggin Plein Air

LarrySeiler
10-03-2005, 09:27 PM
as some know I've been painting plein air for about 9 years or so now...mostly oils, but previously did wildlife art for about 17 years with acrylics. Acrylics come along with not much effort usually for me, but I've been wrestling with wanting to attempt some very large plein airs. For those unfamiliar, a plein air is painted on location outdoors in natural light. Usually smaller sized panels is typical and more manageable seeing that the light will inevitably change.

I admire the work of Edward Redfield who was a Buck County Impressionist in America, a contemporary of Singer Sargent and second in sales only to Sargent. So, he was quite popular.

His typical size afield was 50"x 56" painted in oils, usually started in the morning and finished same day...which we call "alla prima' or all in one sitting. Can you imagine the logistics of hauling a painting out of the woods or field wet with oils that size? Can you imagine even trying something with intent to do in one session that size?

Well...the other day, I did my 18"x 36" in a couple hours and it went relatively well. Yesterday some crazy notion came to me at 1pm to pack up my gear and head to a river/park location here in the northwoods...and to grab my 32" x 36" prepared canvas. Set up by 2pm...light was going down already around 5pm or so...so what the heck was I thinking??? :eek: I need counseling! hahaha..

I got three hours into this baby and had to haul my stuff out. Will try and finish indoors now and hopefully can do justice. Here's the process...

first..you see the back of my 32x 36 canvas setting in the clutches of my half-box French easel. Note the corner bracing and vertical mid struts I have to prevent bowing, warping and problems with wind. (there was plenty of wind!)-

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Oct-2005/532-backstretcher_supports.jpg