PDA

View Full Version : 'The Imbiber' ...WIP half way

amaze_1101
10-03-2005, 02:38 PM
Hi. This is unfinished yet but you can get the general idea of what it's about. I will be finishing his hand today and tidying up areas in the background, then will work more on the wine glass. The wine glass in the ref pic is full of reflctions so watch this space if you are into glass. I hope I can get it right.
Any C&Cs always appreciated.

16" x 14" on stretched canvas
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Oct-2005/41055-The_Imbiber_1.jpg

Lady Carol
10-03-2005, 03:05 PM
Looking great so far. I will definitely be watching for the finish of this.

tremblad
10-03-2005, 04:05 PM
Hello Elaine,

Let me tell you that I really like your subject and that I have not doubt that you will make a beautiful painting out of it.

I'm relatively new to painting and still an amateur. So don't take my comments as cash! Since you are halfway done, I thought it would be better to tell you the two small things that I saw!

One of the first thing I saw in your painting is the presence of an ellipse in the right side of the painting (shown in yellow). I see a line in the background that follow almost exactly the wine line in the glass. About the same thing appears to me at the base of the glass.

The other thing is the source of light, which is obviously coming from the top-left (arrow #1). But, we can also see evidence of light coming from the bottom of the painting (arrow #2) et from the bottom right (arrow #3). Maybe these two last sources light are reflection of the main source on a table or something like that. Maybe it is intented this way and if so, it may well be correct to show them like that. But, myabe there is also too much light on the fingers ... I let you judge that!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Oct-2005/45252-MWSnap111_2005-10-03-14_48_53.jpg

Keep going. This is beautiful.

amaze_1101
10-03-2005, 05:45 PM