PDA

View Full Version : Seascape WIP...

Tunek
09-29-2005, 12:23 PM
Hi everyone...
First I didn't wanna post this one before it was finished but my Bosnian friend Ale l. talked me into it...If you've seen any of my postings you've seen I'm a total newbie in watercolors and I'm anxious to learn...
OK, here it goes...This one is from a book and is a seascape with stromy clouds approaching and some boats on the horizon... This is actually the third step (because I didn't wanna post a WIP at all), so the initial sketch is missing, and the masking of the boats also...here is step three where I wetted the upper 2/3 od the paper and applied a wet in wet wash for the backround sky... If this is gonna come out good I'm thinking of give it to my mum for her birthday which is on oct. 8th...haven't got much time ;)...I was thinking if this one won't be good I can still paint another...

Anyway, this is Arches 300g, 19×26cm CP, Cotman half pans: Ultramarine blue, Cobalt blue, Alizarin crimson and peins grey...
I'm hoping for some feedback maybe I should make another one...I'm kinda pleased with the backround especially because it's a first one like this (wet in wet)...Maybe it does turn out good after all...
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Sep-2005/61471-wetcmam.jpg

next I'll do a few suggestions in the foreground and then some minor (color) things on the sails...I like the mood of this...C&C appreciated...

Tunek
09-29-2005, 12:26 PM
The photo is a little darker, the bottom is totally white, you get the picture...

mustcreate
09-29-2005, 01:45 PM
terrific start!!

absolutely love that sky....so very moody

this should be posted in the Studio - I will alert a Mod to move it for you :)

em

Tunek
09-29-2005, 01:58 PM
Thanks a lot Em! I thought I've posted in the right place, sorry...thank you for the positive feedback...yes I like the sky too...hope I don't mess the painting up in the next steps :)

T Christensen
09-29-2005, 03:28 PM