PDA

View Full Version : First attempt - abstract

artdude
01-17-2002, 04:15 PM
Hi gang :) This is my first time in this forum. I was having quite an artists block and someone suggested to me to try abstracts to get my creativity going again. I normailly work in graphite and black ink because of my color-blindness. This is a whole new world to me so don't be surprised if you see some wierd color combinations in my work. I am really enjoying this color thing. Here is my first attempt at colored inks. The base colors used are: yellow, turquoise and purple. Done on wet 140lb cold press watercolor paper.

PS: I also have a question about the watercolor paper. I have a hard time getting it to stay flat. I've tried to press it with something heavy and also taped it down while it dries. I still get a bit of warping. Any ideas?? Thanks :)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Jan-2002/cosmic1.jpg
Titled: Cosmic Explosions Size 7" X 10"

dnip24
01-17-2002, 09:29 PM
Pretty Good attempt!

RWeller
01-17-2002, 10:09 PM
Hey I like this a lot, nice colors.

artdude
01-18-2002, 11:55 AM
THANKS for your comments dnip24, RWeller :D

VictoriaS
01-18-2002, 04:47 PM
Go to the watercolor forum, and people will be happy to help you re: stretching paper.

Victoria

hlee
01-18-2002, 05:47 PM
lovely colours... good compositional balance ... quicky question: how did you achieve that interesting bubbly(?) effect with the green?

as for the watercolour paper warping: immerse yr paper in water and spread/ stretch it out onto a drawing board... tape the edges on all four sides and let dry before using... should help...

artdude
01-19-2002, 11:27 AM
Originally posted by hlee
lovely colours... good compositional balance ... quicky question: how did you achieve that interesting bubbly(?) effect with the green?

Thanks hlee :) The "bubbly" effect was achieved by sprinkling a bit of table salt on the wet ink and then brushed off when dry.