PDA

View Full Version : My Website

wfdon
09-24-2005, 11:34 AM
I have a website put together its not the best but a start, It wont load all the time?? i dont know if its me or them (angelfire) i would like it if someone would check it out for me???

also please let me know what you think the site, and my glass art, and Please be upfront, i can take it good or bad.
Im not good at this marketing thing at all, any pointers would be helpful and appreciated.

www.angelfire.com/ri/hdglass

Thanks
Don

LoriGreenberg-Beadnerd
09-24-2005, 12:45 PM
Hi Don.

I'm by no means an expert...I do simple design and maintenance but I do know some things so take it as you will. :)

It loaded really slow for me and I got multiple pop-ups due to being hosted with angelfilre. You don't have pictures on your front page so that shouldn't be it...maybe it's just angelfire. For the other pages that load slow (I'm on broadband which is pretty fast) you might want to optimize your images...I don't know the easy way to do this other than the way I do it with the Fireworks program that I've had forever, but it's expensive if you use it just for that. Maybe someone else can help you with that.

I think the glass art is really nice too but it would be able to sing more if it didn't have competing backgrounds in the images.

Also a plus is to have some type of navigation bar on every page so you don't have to go back to the home page to get to the next place you want to go.

Last thing, put a picture or two on the front page so people get an idea of your work and want to go deeper into it.

I think you have a great start. You will find that it's a never ending process and once you get it to where you actually like it you'll be ready for a new look. I started out on aol web space years ago and slowly grew to where I am now. Keep refining and working at it. The more you learn as you go, the better it gets!

wfdon
09-24-2005, 09:41 PM
Thanks