PDA

View Full Version : red flowers in pot

nevbogus
09-21-2005, 12:23 AM
this is a 16 x 20 canvas. it was done as a lesson from a book. i have never done still life before and, while im really pleased with the pot, i would like feedback on areas i need to work on in this and future similar paintings.
thanks,
dean :D
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/20-Sep-2005/19537-red_flowers_in_pot.jpg

Nitsa
09-21-2005, 04:39 AM
I agree, the pot is beautiful, has real texture!.....I love the palette and I think the painting as a whole is a fantastic still life, for a first attempt you should be chuffed. :clap:
The floor reminds me of clay and I like the way you have blended your background.

The only thing I think I would add would be a few stems to the bottom flowers, they seem to look suspended in space.

kieran
09-21-2005, 09:58 AM
Hi Dean,
Great job :clap: lovely colours. One thing - is it me or does the left side of the pot appear unbanalnced in relation the right? It looks like it's either too narrow at the bottom or too wide on top.
- Kieran :)

Lady Carol
09-21-2005, 11:02 AM
The problem I see is that the left looks to be leaning apart from the fact that the top of the pot is not symmetrical.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Sep-2005/11811-19537-red_flowers_in_pot.gif

A little bit more work on the pot should sort this out but also if you add some more plant to the left to break up that line will help to eliminate the rigid form there.

Leslie Pz
09-21-2005, 01:50 PM
Coming along well. Carol has some good points and agree with her e-version. Still, this piece is very interesting to see and like the way you've treated the flowers.

bullyluvver
09-21-2005, 02:52 PM
I like this too - especially the way you've blended the BG.

Gail

JanB
09-21-2005, 03:39 PM