PDA

View Full Version : Experience of HAIRSPRAY yellowing?

Brad121
09-17-2005, 06:06 PM
Hi,
I'm very new to the joys of pastel, in an effort to conserve money, i've been fixing with a cheap non perfumed (no b vitamins) Hairspray from the supermarket. A large can is about £0.50 pence. A can of W&N fixative is about £6.00, so i'm making a considerable saving.

I've not had any problems with yellowing, but as I say i'm new.

I understand that the chemical compostion of hairspray is the same as the fixative we buy at 6 times the price. I would be interested if anyone can confirm that.

My question is, what experience do you have of the archival quality and indeed the finished looked of a pastel that's been fixed with hairspray as opposed one that has been fixed with a fixative produced for the purpose?

Thanks,

Brad

Bringer
09-17-2005, 06:14 PM
Hi,

I've never used hairspray for my pastels.
You may think it's expensive - and probably it is having in account it's composition - but if one thinks that a can of fixative will last 6 months (unless you do lots of pastels, or lots of layers) for insteance, I guess 6 pounds is not that much.
But then again when you buy a brand snickers or expensive shoes, how much do you think it was their manufacturing cost ? :-)
I cannot tell you if the pastels will yellow, I guess you'll have to wait a couple of years maybe.
You can also mke your own fixative, but I suppose it would become more espensive than the hairspray.
One more thing : I prefer Talens pastel fixative 064

Regards,

Josť

Brad121
09-17-2005, 07:32 PM
Thanks for the information, interesting.
You like Talens pastel fixative, give you have a preference in the brand make, it rather indicates you've noticed a difference. Perhap you would expand on that please.

What differences in brands of fixative have you noticed?

Thanks,

Brad

PeggyB
09-17-2005, 07:51 PM
Hi Brad