PDA

View Full Version : Help please!! on my WIP

ASpencer
09-16-2005, 04:21 AM
Hi everybody!!

Firstly, I hope I am posting in the correct forum for advice on a WIP and apologise if it is not!

I am putting on my WIP because I am completely stuck! I used a reference pic from TeAnne so thank you for that. Right, my problem is I just don't know where to go with this next and I am scared of mucking it up. Being self taught - this is always the stage of my work that I get "stuck" in. Any help or advice you can all give me would be really appreciated.

Thank you all in advance.

Amandahttp://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Sep-2005/67704-Bird_of_Paradise_WIP.JPG

laudesan
09-16-2005, 04:36 AM
You certainly are onto the right track here..:) This is going to be a wonderful painting.

I think you need to think about your vlaues now. Where to put your lights and your darks..

Do a greyscale of your ref pic, and your painting, and pump up your painting with values..

Have you read the values classroom thread??? Check in the workshop, there is a stickie with the classrooms..

Always remember when paining your values, keep your lights lights next your darkest darkes for maximum impact..

Hope this helps..

ASpencer
09-16-2005, 05:01 AM
Hi JJ - I have not read the values thread, so will have a look at that today - thank you!

painterbear
09-16-2005, 05:10 AM
Hi Amanda,

You have a beautiful painting in the works and I can see why you don't want to "muck it up." ;)

JJ's advice is very good. Right now, your values are all pretty much the same so there is nothing to capture the viewer's eye. Decide what you want your Center of Interest to be (I would assume it might be the flower) and focus your attention there as far as most details, greatest contrast (lightest lights against darkest darks), richest tones....then be less intense in the rest of the painting.