PDA

View Full Version : First rose

3chaway9
09-14-2005, 03:59 PM
:wave: Hi all,
i got the ref. pic. for this rose in the ref. library....it's my first attempt at a rose....it's not a true image of the pic. as i just went right in and painted it from scratch.......with just a few guide lines....i wasn't wanting to do a botanical type painting....(not that i could) lol....but i found i was constently comparing it....and changing it...
i found i couldn't get the right colours....so anyway...here is the result...i'm quite happy with the outcome....see what you all think....thanks for looking.
C&Cs welcome.

gnu
09-14-2005, 04:18 PM
it's lovley..perhaps a TAD more space at the top would've been better, but not glaring..you've done well on what can be a difficult flower to do..

bjcpaints
09-14-2005, 04:37 PM
Its beautiful Caroline! I might have to try again. I get lost going around and around in the petals of the ones that are more open. Yours is lovely!
Barbara

3chaway9
09-14-2005, 05:06 PM
Hi Gill.........i never thought of leaving more space at the top....it looks ok though... i forgot to say....it's stretched canvas....14''x18''and the darks are a lot darker than the pic. IRL.....
Hi Barbara.....as i said it's my first one....and i like the large macro size....(think thats what they call it)...it's nice against my wall which is a turquoise colour....the dark background shows off the rose fine.

Thankyou both for the nice comments....great to hear from you.

jan409
09-14-2005, 05:35 PM
Lovely, Caroline, I love roses and you did this one wonderfully. Love the colors. Jan409

gurleygirl
09-14-2005, 06:10 PM
Beautiful!!

3chaway9
09-14-2005, 07:08 PM
Thankyou Jan ........nice of you to say.

Thankyou Tracey.....had a look at your web site....lovely paintings.

gurleygirl
09-14-2005, 07:11 PM
Thanks so much Caroline!!

Lady Carol
09-14-2005, 07:24 PM
Lovely Caroline, sinmply lovely.

3chaway9
09-14-2005, 07:51 PM
Thanks so much Carol.........

Kerch