PDA

View Full Version : Why good books disapear....

NOYB
09-08-2005, 06:24 PM
I am an Fantasy Artist ,(but am working towards being a writer too).

I have learned that the reason why some our favorite books, wether they be instruction books, non-fiction, fiction, etc, go into the "out of print", "rare", "was selling for 19.95 but is now 150.00 dollars", is because how they were or are sold. (If you are a published artist with an instruction book, maybe you can give some opinion here).

I learned that if i want to keep my favorite author in the business and their books on the shelf, i should order through my local stores, and NOT through the internet. Below is a detailed explination as to why: (WARNING, THIS IS LONG, BUT VERY WORTH IT. AND THERE IS A DISCLAIMER AT THE BOTTOM).

It works like this. The chains put in an order for 10 books per store. (Thatís pretty high, incidentally, but Iím ever the optimist.) Of those, seven sell, one is read to death in-store and has to be scrapped, and two are still sitting on the shelves. This is a 70% sell-through, which will have your agent and you and your editor and your publisher dancing in the aisles. Nobody ever sells through at a hundred percent. 50% is considered acceptable, a 70% sell-through is considered terrific, 80% or better and you might as well be walking on water where you publisher and editor are concerned.

Iíve had a number of books sell through at 70% or better . . . a couple way better. The sounds of jubilation are spectacular. While they last.