PDA

View Full Version : To work or not to work? HELP!!!!

D_Rob
09-01-2005, 12:17 PM
Ok, so now I'm hearing that I should expect around 80-90 hrs of homework a week at AAU so I'm thinking that I probably won't have time to work. So, my question is......................what kind of loan to I get to cover "living expenses,etc"? I've never done this before so I'm kinda lost at the moment. Any input would be much appreciated!

kimeart
09-01-2005, 10:33 PM
You must stay organized and never get behind!!!!! It is very difficult to catch up and your grades will go down. Talk with the financial aid people at school on different types of loans and have them give you information on what else is available and what others are doing to help. I took out a promissory note for my personal school loans. I did this over the Internet. Look under the FAFSA web site for more info also.
Your local bank will also have school loan programs to help you.

Good Luck. I started my classes today

Axl
09-02-2005, 01:49 AM
I donno how much of a loan you should get, but I definately agree with you that its a really really good idea. When I was in school we had similar hour of homework and man they werent kidding!!!! Working a part time job on the side just wasnt happening, unfortunately! So I got in quite a mess when I was having so much homework, and not nearly enough time on the side to work long enough hours to pay the bills.

I'm not in school right now, taking some time off. But if I go back I think being a part time student will definately be my best bet.

Anyways, even with a loan you still might consider working a shift or 2 on the weekends, if you have the time. But its definately good to have your bases covered incase you cant!

Good luck with it :D

artjunkie101
09-02-2005, 10:28 PM