PDA

View Full Version : Quarter Horse WIP

cpart
08-31-2005, 04:57 AM
Well I think its a quarter horse!

Found the ref photo in the ref lib a while back, always wanted to drwa this one.

Size is approx 10 x 9 inches, on Winsor&Newton 'Lana' paper. I've not used my 'smudge' method so much on this one, certainly not on the legs. Quite please with it so far. The only bit that bothers me is the neck. In the ref photo its not very clear, so I've tried to put in some detail, will have to re-vist that area.

As always all C&C welcome, I'm here to learn.

Thanks for looking.

Splatt!
08-31-2005, 01:39 PM
Stu,

This looks awesome to me. I'm no equine expert, but the neck looks a little thin to me. That said, your work is magnificent.

equineartist21
08-31-2005, 01:51 PM
Head shape is a little off ..he's got a head a bit like a dear.. horses have great cheeks.. lol and Quarter horses have great cheeks at both ends.. (part of their charm) Check the angle of the hind leg closest to us.. from the hock down angle seems too severe

Values are looking great!!!

saffy rose
08-31-2005, 03:20 PM
Hey cpart, its looking great so far!:clap: :clap: :clap: I love its sheen and the leg detail is amazing! I agree with the comment about the neck being too thin, some horses do have really thin necks, but it does look slightely strange to the viewer! Keep up the good work!:)

lathiel
08-31-2005, 03:53 PM
Hi cpart

I think the problem may also be that horses necks tend to taper up towards the neck so this looks too thin as it meets the chest.

lathiel
09-01-2005, 05:19 AM
Having said that, the shading is lovely. You could just imagine yourself running your hand over its coat. The detail on the legs is excellent too. I always think this is the part that makes or breaks a horse drawing, as it is such a complex part of the horse.

cpart
09-01-2005, 10:08 AM
Splatt! - Thank you :D I'll check the neck later.