PDA

View Full Version : beginning; artbooks or pictures?

serpentixus
08-29-2005, 05:12 AM
I'm new to working with pastels. I 've painted with acrylics and oilpaint before but I did not like the long (oil) and short (acryl) drying times and the smell of thurps (my lungs neither). Having a buisy young live I ended up painting with to large periods not painting but just waiting. And this killed enjoying and my encouragement. I ended up with some paintings unfinished.
I talked to an artist and she told me she had the same experience and solved it switching to pastel. So I decided to give it a try. I must say I really enjoy pastels. I finally learn to know and appreciate tones and i like the fact i can work fast, not taking much time to mix colors.

But my question is: learning a new medium is not easy, how can I learn to know pastels? I really am looking forward creating my own style. And I have some problems like how to get dark enough with pastels, problems with layers, etc. I guess the typical problems for new people to the medium pastel.
I know what you are thinking: practice, practice, practice. But what is best when you are new to this medium? Is it best to paint a work from artbooks? And maybe adapt it to my point of view on things? Learning to solve problems this way? Will this help me creating my own style?
Or do I just have to paint from pictures or reality? Is this the only way to find my own style? And is this the right time to do this? Will I find out how to solve the problems without the artbooks?
thanx for any advice

Kathryn Wilson
08-29-2005, 09:03 AM
Hi and Welcome to the Pastel Forum - you really have come to the right place to learn how to use and enjoy pastels. You're asking lots of questions, but the main question seems to be how to learn to use pastels.

First, explore our Pastel Library - there are many, many threads that teach different aspects of using pastels.