PDA

View Full Version : Do You Use A Mac Or A Pc?

Shari
08-29-2005, 01:57 AM
I am ready to buy a new computer, mine is very old. I have always used PC's and have never used a Mac, but most of my artist friends use Mac. I am trying to decide which way to go. I already own photoshop and illustrator for the PC and I really don't want to buy all new software. Is a Mac so much better? I would like to know who uses which and why. Also, I am thinking of getting a laptop so I can be portable. Besides using my computer for manipulating my photos before painting, I use the computer for music files and writing. Please help.

Shari

khourianya
08-29-2005, 02:08 AM
I own both - a Mac desktop and a PC laptop. and have uses for both...

As a graphic designer I do prefer my Mac as I find it handles large graphic files better. :D I find that the programs are just smoother for mac and because I learned them on the Mac in school, i am accustommed to the shortcuts. I also found that if I design a website to work on a mac, most times it will display the same on PC, while designing on a PC can often run you into many more issues when viewing it on the Mac. If you plan to use a computer to write music - mac is the way to go. my boyfriend is a sound engineer and electronic music composer and has sworn by macs for the past 6 years.

I use my PC for writing and cross-platform testing. I don't like Microsoft Office for the Mac as they made many changes when they ported the programs to the mac platform and as a former trainer of these programs, I have learned to prefer the PC version. Since most of the things i would ask for portability in are writing-based, that is why I selected a laptop.