PDA

View Full Version : Need another set of eyes please!

tuckerbird
08-28-2005, 02:21 PM
There is a Miniature Art show in our area in October, and my watercolor instructor wanted me to enter something. This is my first attempt at a rose, and it probably wasn't a smart idea to try this. I've been working on this WAAAY to long and need a fresh set of eyes. Any comments or suggestions for changes before I show it to my instructor would be greatly appreciated.

The size is 3 1/5" X 5", Arches cp paper, daVinci paints. The reference is from WC, but I'm sorry I didn't make note of whose photo it was. Thanks to the photographer for the great photo! http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Aug-2005/21179-RosesDoneWEB.jpg

bluegenes
08-28-2005, 02:49 PM
This is just beautiful! The only thing I can suggest is to put a bit of the rose colour in the background, and maybe a bit of the background colour in the rose, to tie them together.
But even if you keep it as is, it's just lovely!
:clap:
Patty

painterbear
08-28-2005, 03:17 PM
Great suggestion from Patty.

The rose is nicely painted, you just need to tye the two parts together.

Sylvia

Celeste McCall
08-28-2005, 03:38 PM
Looks great to me. Good suggestions above.

Clappies and smiles to you.

charlie154
08-28-2005, 03:43 PM
A gorgeous rose! Nicely done, fresh and not overworked. I'd never know you had worked on it for long. Good luck!

Marilyn

JustjoGA
08-28-2005, 04:55 PM
I think it is perfectly beautiful as is. I have never
understood why putting color of one element into
another helps...

Jo in Georgia

Lynn Quinn
08-28-2005, 07:32 PM
Very, very nice!

laudesan
08-28-2005, 11:30 PM
Your rose is absolutely beautiful!! So delicate and the shadows are just perfect..

There is so little background showing, I personally wouldn't worry about adding the rose colour to it.

I have no idea how you would add the background colour to the rose as suggested tho'???

Gosh don't touch it as yet, show your art teacher first..