PDA

View Full Version : Mental block is keeping me from painting maturely...

APCenter
08-09-2005, 05:45 AM
Hey, all! I have some background in oils (but haven't touched 'em in quite a few years now), and recently acrylics and watercolors. But seeing works done in pastels and oil pastels has really made me want to take up one or both of these media. So I've tinkered around with it a bit. I picked up a box of 32 Mungyo half-sticks, and I also found a small box of Pentel OP's that somebody gave me years ago that never got used. Now, I know that I'd probably be a lot happier with my beginning results if I were using materials of some quality. But I really don't think that's what troubling me.

My big problem is that I've got a huge subconscoius block in that I see a lot of wonderful paintings in pastels and OP's, but years of "painting" with brushes vs. "drawing" with charcoal, crayons, etc., have me locked into viewing pastels as a drawing medium. And to be honest, that's what my work is looking like. I feel like I'd get similar results with kid's sidewalk chalk. The OP's are not quite as uncomfortable, but there's still a strong suggestion of "wax crayon" in my attempts. I just can't seem to "think" the approach the right way. I want to produce "paintings" but I end up with something reminiscent of a childhood scribble with various Crayola products.

Probably some better materials and some lessons would help, but at this stage the problem seems so subconscious that I'd rather try to get my brain into the right mode than throw more money at a problem that may not go away. I just know that there have to be some people here that experienced this same situation that might have a way to break the block.

Thanks in advance!

Kathryn Wilson
08-09-2005, 10:18 AM