PDA

View Full Version : Painting big

mirizar
07-21-2005, 10:02 PM
Hi!

I was recently asked by my boss (I am a Civil Engineer working in water resources) to make a very large acrylic painting to decorate our office. By large he means 30X40 or 36X48. I am not used to painting this big and the compensation won't be that great. But I am excited about the prospect of painting large and having other people see my work. The biggest I've painted so far is just 18X24 so this painting will be 4 times as large :eek:

I have a lot of questions about painting big and I would really appreciate if you could give me ideas.

I. The paint

I was thinking of buying Dick Blick acrylics since they are big and inexpensive.

I was thinking about buying 12-14 colors in their 8 oz size.
Q: Is 8 oz way too much paint for a canvas this size (30X40 or 36X48)? I can always have leftovers for future paintings :D

These are the colors I am interested in: Mars Black, Titanium White, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Yellow Oxide, Cadmium Red Light, Naphtol Crimson, Cadmium Orange, Yellow Medium Azo, Phtalo Green, Perm. Hooker's Green, Ultramarine Blue, Dioxazine Purple.

Q: Do you think these are enough? I have a feeling I need another blue. I would like to buy the neutrals (browns, blacks, white) plus one warm & cool of the 3 primaries, plus 2 good greens, 1 orange and 1 purple. I am not sure if the primaries I have listed above are cool or warm. Any idea how to find that out?

II. The support

Although I am not a big fan of pre-stretched canvas, I am thinking of buying it just because people like it and it's hard to find other supports in big sizes.

Q: Can you suggest any good staple-free or back-stapled prestretched canvas that doesn't warp at this size (30X40 or 36X48) yet is not too expensive? I was thinking Fredrix Gallerywrap canvas or Dick Blick Master canvas, but I am not sure if these are cross-braced...

III. The brushes