PDA

View Full Version : Grrrrrrrr! Now I'm Getting TICKED!

Roan
09-11-2000, 07:01 PM
Okay, now I remember WHY I started painting on sanded papers.

Binder. Bits. Rocks. Viens. I just ruined an entire painting that I was doing on Canson paper because the two of the color sticks I was using were FULL of bloody binder! "Tsk. Cheap pastels", you say. "HAH!" say I. "Schmincke!"

Schmincke? Yes, Schmincke. One of the few pastel brands I'd have thought would NOT present a binder problem. Rembrandt -- heh, tons in a lot of the colors. Winsor & Newton, here and there. Rowney -- haven't seen it, yet. But SCHMINCKE? C'MON!

The reddish violet values, D and B FULL of binder. Ripped the paper. Marred the paper. Went through an 8x10 piece of sandpaper trying to get past the binder bits. No luck.

Now, my question is: what recourse do we have? Can we send these back to the company (retail? manufacturer?) or just suffer? Is this inherent to this particular color? No idea!

Comments? Suggestions? Consolation? Pity?
WHINE!

Tha eil e glc, Schmincke! Nach bi grach!

------------------
Fisg mr agus mar sin leibh an-drsda,
Roan
-------------------
"Mhair i fs, is cha tid a glir air chall dh'aindeoin g is moruin mhir nan Gall."
<FONT size="1">-- Mac Mhaighstir Alasdair</FONT s>

VictoriaS
09-11-2000, 07:10 PM
Bummer!

LDianeJohnson
09-12-2000, 10:37 AM
Roan,

Sympathy, consolation, and pity for you most definately. Even my first love, Sennelier, has a few colors which seem inherently stiff with binder. I do not know what this is, but it happens to me through all 8 or so brands I use. Mostly in the dark greens and some reds for me, but I don't know if there is any real reason for it.