PDA

View Full Version : What stage are YOU in?

rosewood
07-08-2005, 12:36 AM
I have been thinking about being a beginner in art and pastels and how that affects the way that I approach a painting in comparison to how a professional artist approaches a painting. I have also been mulling around how this concept of beginner/professional relates to my field, where I am a professional - education.

In education, there are 4 stages of teaching - I think they relate to art, too:
the survival stage where teachers are focusing on the actual techniques of teaching...studying every night just to teach a lesson the next day because it is NOT 2nd nature...thinking through EVERY step that they make, so that they say/teach the right thing...and of course they make mistakes and bad judgment calls due to inexperience...it is a difficult stage because they are not sure of anything, they are out of their comfort zone every minute, they have not developed a repitoire of tricks and skills yet to fall back on when things get tough...it is scary and that is why it is called survival stage. (sound familiar to any of you newbies??) If teachers do not quit, they eventually graduate from the survival stage and move into the...

mastery stage where teachers begin to feel more comfortable with teaching; they have gained techniques, skills and strategies to deal with the day to day operations as well as any problems that may arise...teachers in this stage are more confident in their abilities and have a "can do" attitude. They are ready to meet future challenges. Soon they will move into the