PDA

View Full Version : Lake Tahoe My Second Painting-WIP

TerriMarie
07-02-2005, 01:10 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-02-2005/63748_tahoe-WIP.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-02-2005/63748_tahoe-reference.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Lake Tahoe My Second Painting
Year Created: 2005
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 9 x 12
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hello :O)

This is my second attempt at oil painting and although I am enjoying every minute it's rather nerve wracking - every time I move on to another area of the painting I find myself saying, "I hope I don't ruin it!".

I'm not finished yet, there's still a lot to work on but thought I'd post an image of it to see if you think I am headed in the right direction - and since I have no experience or education in art every step is a learing experience.

I'm also posting the reference photo that I took while at the lake...it was taken from the 15th floor of a hotel.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
All critiques are most welcome!! It's the only way I'm going to learn :)

Gilberte
07-02-2005, 02:04 PM
This is excellent since it's still in progress.
A real fine art style painting.
When squinting at your painting and the reference photo you might consider to add "the light" ...
Good Luck and what a beautiful place !

TerriMarie
07-02-2005, 02:24 PM
Thank you Gilberte :) I understand what you mean - add "the light" ...
squinting makes the light areas of the reference photo "pop" out!

clementine
07-02-2005, 03:51 PM
I agree you can give more light and perhaps don't cover the hill with so many trees to avoid a mass effect.However I can say to you for an attempt it's a very good attempt!..

PaulMcD
07-02-2005, 08:34 PM