PDA

View Full Version : Stumped on what colors to iuse for the background

dollardays
01-01-2002, 10:22 PM
I am about 50 percent finished with this portrait of my son and daughter. I know I should be working up the background now but everything I have tried fails so far. It is a pastel painting on greenish paper. I can change the color of her shirt and his is supposed to be light blue checked but as you can see, I have been working on mostly the faces. Now I need to think about the rest and I am clueless. I really love the way this is turning out and would appreciate any suggestions on tones that might fit in here. Thanks!! Nora

Drumbeat-trish
01-02-2002, 09:39 PM
Sorry, I'm new to this game, so can't help you with background colours. Just wanted to say what an awesome painting. You seem to have captured a wonderful sensitive, big brother side to your son, and that smile on your daughter's face ! As a teacher I'd love to meet her. I'm sure someone can give you great advice. Looks great the way its going. I look forward to seeing the finished painting.

Trish:clap: :clap: :clap:

GeraldineNesbitt
01-19-2002, 02:36 PM
Hi

This is a nice painting, I think the colours in the background may be too similar in tone to the main painting and also it appears as if you have tried to include all the colours. I would lighten the background or use the green paper (which is contrast to the red in your painting) with just one of the colours from the figures.

Hope this is of some use, I'm learning to.

Regards
Geraldine

dollardays
01-19-2002, 06:23 PM