PDA

View Full Version : Can this be salvaged?

Margaret Dent
06-20-2005, 11:00 PM
Hello,

I'm a super-newbie here and only have one WC under my belt. This is number 2. It's from the reference library and I apologize but I didn't write down who contributed it. It's actually a painting for my mom. I am very happy with the way the sunflower petals are coming along, but the blue sky has me totally baffled :eek: !

Here is the problem: I put masking fluid on the petals prior to painting the sky. Now, getting a smooth, uniform wash is hard enough, but I had no idea how hard it would be to get it all even going between the mask!!! So, I ended up with very uneven sky with lighter areas and areas of dark lines. Is there any way to fix this?

I've tried to apply some water and then gently scrub the darker lines but then too much colour gets lifted and I end up with lighter areas! Very frustrating.

Would anyone be willing to help please?

Margaret.

Granny R
06-20-2005, 11:35 PM
Sure, keep going, You can put more washes over the sky once dried. Even variations in the sky color will add to it. Don't despair. I learn a lot by making mistakes .
Ruth

Yorky
06-21-2005, 03:52 AM
No one will notice slight imperfections in the sky, the flower will be the star.

press on!

Doug

laudesan
06-21-2005, 04:09 AM
Looks O.K. to me. I would just keep going. Every painting can be "salvaged" if you have patience. I kinda like the sky, and you could put another light wash over the whole sky when the previous layer is completely dry.

Doug is right tho' it is the gorgeous sunflower that is going to be the star of the show..

JJ

artmom
06-21-2005, 08:57 AM
Keep going! Most skies in real life have different shades of blue, etc. in them.

Lyn

mmcaloon
06-21-2005, 09:25 AM
Press on the start of the show will do the job for you. It looks great so far.

ElizabethAnne
06-21-2005, 09:43 AM