PDA

View Full Version : major-illustrations

FioreQ
06-02-2001, 10:07 PM
well I'm still a student and I might be transfering to Otis College for Art and Design in LA...my major of course is Illustrations...Anyone have any experiences there? please share...

thanx
http://www.wetcanvas.com/ubb/confused.gif

------------------
"LiFe is ShoRt, ArT is LonG" ;-)

bruin70
06-03-2001, 01:17 AM
where are you schooling now?

why otis as opposed to art center?

also check out long beach state, utah, syracuse, school of visual arts, ny fashion institute, rhode island coll. of design.

there's only one thing you HAVE to know about illustration,,,,,and it is the one thing that is never taught,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,how to meet a deadline. all the fancy assignments you get, with plenty of time to do them, are never the same as an art director telling he wants what HE wants(and not what YOU want to do), and he wants a sketch in three days and a finish in one week.

you'll come out of illustration school with a bloated portfolio of finished work that you could have put together at a cheaper fine art school. all anyone, art director or art rep, wants to see is good art. there are no defined areas of fine art or illustration.....{M}

------------------
"it's alright to be judgmental,,,,,,,,if you have taste"...MILT

bruin70
06-03-2001, 01:19 AM
ps,,,,you'll need to know the computer.

------------------

FioreQ
06-03-2001, 02:59 AM
well thank you for a reply...well I'm in Utah at the moment but school here is just -oh I hate it and I wasn't excepted to their program for some weird reason .

when I said Otis ..it's just as I said..art college in LA...

another thing that I hate in utah is the system...there is just not enough challenge.