PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on Easels ...

binkie
06-01-2005, 03:02 PM
Next week is my birthday and hubby wants to get me an easel. Up to this point I have a small easel that sits on a table that I put my paintings on, or I sit with a board in my lap. I'd like a nice easel that I can use indoors or outdoors (hauling around with me). I don't want it to cost a lot of money since I'm still learning. Does anyone have a suggestion????

Thanks!
binkie

IndigoRed
06-01-2005, 03:29 PM
Hi there. Dickblick.com has a good selection of easels that you can view and read what each one is best for.......I had the university easel and loved it.........now i use two tripod easels (tho not liking them much) but im limited on space.......I also use a box easel, which is a storage box with an easel attached to it....love it too, i use it on my drafting table and take it with me when i want to paint outside.....you will need something outside to put it on tho, i usually take a side table that folds up and is not heavy (got mine at walmart for 7 bux. ) other than that, i say do some research on all the easels you can and im sure youll find something that meets your needs.......

good luck and happy painting

HarvestMoon
06-01-2005, 03:35 PM
I had a wood easel with a very small tray at the bottom, and it would not go up far enough to hold a large board- I gave it away (regret it now as kids are taking an interest), so I just got a STUDIO RTA BASIC STEEL STUDIO EASEL , which Jerry's has on sale for $69.99. https://www.jerrysartarama.com/art-supply-stores/online/2107