PDA

View Full Version : Pastel color paper

Donn
05-12-2005, 12:25 PM
What color pastel papers are better to work on for landscapes and why? From what I'm reading, white is not a good choice. I'm a fairly new beginner and don't feel I'm ready for the Wallis type of paper. Am I wrong? What brands do you suggest for a beginner? I'm really confused on the color paper issue. Thanks.

khourianya
05-12-2005, 01:57 PM
First things first - beginners can use Wallis. I know I encourage it, because it is such a lovely paper to work on. Plus, you can tint it to any colour you want. Some of the other sanded papers come in various colours too.

As for good coloured papers for landscapes...use something that complements the scene you are working on. I like using warmer toned papers for landscapes (when I do them).

Paula Ford
05-12-2005, 09:49 PM
I totally agree with Cori. Beginners can and SHOULD use Wallis because it is the best and it helps you develop your skills. Other papers (IMHO) are frustrating. For example, when using Canson, it will not take many layers, and therefore the paper fills up with pastel before you are finished with the painting. Also, for me, the pastel just falls off of it.

My favorite color is white. For me it is the easiest to work with. It's like starting with a blank canvas. If I start with a colored paper, my eyes are confused and can't judge what is going on in the painting. Also, if using a colored paper, it forces me to do the sky first. Lots of the time, I don't want to do the sky first...if you know what I mean.

Many artists use colored, and as Cori said, if you do use Wallis, you can tint it any color you'd like. For an underpainting, you can you use any wet media on it, or like me, use Prismacolor markers to do my sketch and lay down some color before getting my pastels out.

Paula

Bringer
05-13-2005, 07:14 PM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to pastels and arts.
I haven't tried many types of paper and haven't tried Wallis, altough I will try it someday.